Circa 1730 Antique, St. Michaels was often visited by Reverand Theodore Peck , the “Missionary to the Lymes”, as found in the history of Saint Ann’s in Old Lyme. The house was deeded from R.W. Chadwick to Frank S. Champion in April of 1891, and was referred to as “the Gates Place”. There is a map on site showing the location of the property in “Black Hall”.
This wonderfully cared for home features many original features, post and beam construction with a large great room wing addition with soaring ceilings, a working fireplace and lovely built ins. There are wide board hardwood floors throughout and a total of four fireplaces. The dining room boasts hand painted murals and a lovely hearth, several parlor and sitting rooms offer a very versatile floor plan allowing for a variety of room configurations. The charming kitchen has open shelving; there is a large master suite on the second floor and another loft bedroom in the main house. Updates include a cedar shingle roof and oil warm air heat. There is a separate 300 sq. ft guest house with bath and kitchenette, which has a 200 sq. ft enclosed porch – great studio space. A 2 car detached garage is on site, with many perennial plantings, grapes and blueberries, gorgeous stone walls ~ private and serene surroundings – Take a LOOK.